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INTRODUCTION

The purpose of this handbook is to 
help you and your family understand 
the parole process. It is not intended 

to provide legal advice. 

This information is accurate as of 
March 2025. Future laws and policies 

may change this content.

The Utah Board of The Utah Board of Pardons and Parole 
thanks all groups and individuals who 

helped make this handbook.
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PART 1
ABOUT THE BOARD

WHAT IS THE BOARD 
OF PARDONS & PAROLE?

The Utah Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) was created by the 
Utah Constitution. The Board makes decisions about parole, prison 
release, commutation, executive clemency, and pardons for all 
individuals in the custody of the Utah Department of Corrections.

There are five full-time Board members and up to five part-time 
(pro tempore) members. The Governor appoints them, and the 
Senate approves them for five-year terms.

The Board has hearing officers who conduct some hearings and The Board has hearing officers who conduct some hearings and 
make recommendations. Hearing officers DO NOT make any 
decisions. 

The mission of the Board is to protect public safeThe mission of the Board is to protect public safety through 
informed and just decisions that consider victim input, the 
accountability of those under its jurisdiction, risk reduction, and 
rehabilitation. These decisions must be aligned with federal and 
state constitutions and statutes and the Board’s administrative 
rules. 

(See Utah Constitution Article VII, §12; Utah Code Ann. §77-27-2; Utah (See Utah Constitution Article VII, §12; Utah Code Ann. §77-27-2; Utah 
Admin. Code R671)
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Utah uses indeterminate sentencing, which means judges give a 
range of time for incarceration instead of a fixed amount (e.g., “0 
to 5 years” rather than “2.5 years”). After you arrive at prison, the 
Board uses a form called a matrix, provided by the Utah 
Sentencing Commission, to calculate your sentencing guideline.*

The guidelines determined by AP&P for the Court (before you are 
sentenced) are not used by the Board.

KKeep in mind, guidelines are recommendations, not mandates. 
Statute requires incarceration for the maximum sentence unless 
the Board grants an earlier release. The Board can choose to 
release someone either before or after the guideline. The guideline 
is just a starting point. The Board also looks at other factors 
including, but not limited to:

· the harm done to the victim, 
· · your behavior in prison, 

· progress in treatment or education, 
· and your criminal history.

Because of this, people convicted of similar crimes can get 
different decisions from the Board regarding release, 
parole, parole conditions, and how long they stay in prison.

**For more information: 
https://justice.utah.gov/sentencing/sentencing-and-release-guidelines/

See Utah Code §63M-7-404

WHAT IS THE BOARD’S 
ROLE WITH SENTENCING?
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The Board keeps a record of all public hearings and decisions for 30 
years after a sentence is terminated. You can request a copy by 
submitting a written request. There may be a fee for this service.

In most cases, the BoardIn most cases, the Board’s decisions are final and cannot be appealed 
or reviewed by a court. However, a court may review a decision if 
someone believes their due process rights were violated or that the 
Board misused its authority. In the Utah State Courts, this type of 
review is called a Petition for Extraordinary Relief, under Utah Rule of 
Civil Procedure 65B. Board decisions cannot be challenged through a 
regular appeal or a post-conviction action. The Board may reconsider 
its own decisions through Special its own decisions through Special Attention Reviews, Rescission 
Hearings, or Redeterminations.

See Utah Code §77-27-5; Utah Admin. Code R671-305

BOARD DECISIONS

THE BOARD HAS THE AUTHORITY TO: 

· Grant parole
· Determine or adjust restitution*, fines, or forfeitures
· Terminate sentences before expiration 
· Issue arrest warrants for parole violations 
· Determine consequences for parole violations 
· Revoke parole 
· Conduct evidentiary hearings· Conduct evidentiary hearings
· Grant pardons (except in cases of 
treason or impeachment)
· In rare or special cases, reduce or commute sentences
 
  *The Board can only determine restitution to cases sentenced before July 1, 2021.
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Risk-Related Domains (predict your likelihood of success on 
parole) such as:

• Criminal and Parole History: Looks at when your criminal 
behavior began, how often it happened, whether it became more 
serious, and any previous outcomes while on  probation or 
parole.

• Self-Control: • Self-Control: Examines your ability to behave responsibly and 
make positive choices.

• Programming: Considers whether you’ve participated in and 
completed required programs. Also considers your participation 
in other programming like education, skills, employment, peer 
engagement, etc.

• Institutional/Community Behavior:• Institutional/Community Behavior: Reviews your behavior 
while incarcerated and under supervision in the community.

• Offender Change: Looks for signs that you’ve benefited from 
programs, improved your thinking and decision-making, and 
made lasting changes in your behavior.

• Release Plan: Assesses whether you have a clear, realistic plan 
for your release (See page 14 for more on release plans).

• Case-Specific Factors:• Case-Specific Factors: Considers any unique details about 
your situation that don’t fit into the other categories.

Policy-Related Domains (focus on public expectations) 
such as:

• Victim Considerations: Considers the harm caused to the 
victim, including physical or emotional injury, property damage, 
and how the crime affected their daily life.

• Statutory Considerations:• Statutory Considerations: Takes into account parole 
guidelines and laws that apply to your case.

• Community Considerations: Looks at community support or 
opposition to your parole and the impact your crime had on the 
community.

This system ensures that decisions are faiThis system ensures that decisions are fair, transparent, and focused 
on public safety while also considering your progress and readiness for 
reentry.

Any document that the Board uses to make a decision will be shared 
with you in the blue disclosure packet (see Disclosure Packet on page 
13 for more information).

The Board uses a structured decision-making framework (SDMF) to guide 
all release decisions. This system is evidence-based and considers different 
parts of your history and behavior, called "domains," that research shows 
impact successful reentry into the community. These domains are used to 
help guide decisions, not as a strict set of rules.

Structured Decision-Making Framework 
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Determine housing
Provide treatment 
Determine if someone’s 
behavior makes them 
eligible to participate
in treatment
PrProvide supervision 
while on parole
Resolve conflicts between 
a parolee and parole officer

Make release 
decisions

Revoke parole

Determine parole 
conditions

 

The Board and the Utah Department of Corrections (UDC) work 
together, but they are separate agencies. The Board makes 
decisions, while UDC has physical custody of inmates.

UDC is in charge of housing assignments, prUDC is in charge of housing assignments, providing treatment 
programs ordered by the Board (depending on available bed space 
and eligibility), and supervising you while on parole. UDC will 
decide if you qualify for treatment. Keep in mind, limited space in 
treatment programs can affect your parole date, as you may have 
to wait for a spot to open up.

See Utah Code §64-13

THE BOARD & 

UDC CAN UDC CANNOT

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS
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• Expiration Date: This is the longest time you can serve in prison based on 
the judge’s sentence.
  

• Sentencing Guideline:• Sentencing Guideline: This is a recommendation, not a mandate, for how 
long you should serve, calculated using a form from the Utah Sentencing 
Commission. It's just a suggestion, and the Board can release you before or 
after this time.
  

• Credit for Time Served:• Credit for Time Served: The time you’ve already spent in custody for the 
crime that led to this sentence reduces your maximum prison time. However, 
time for new crimes committed in prison or time spent in a psychiatric facility 
before prison doesn’t count toward this credit.

Once you are sentenced to prison, the Board takes responsibility for 
making release decisions and deciding when and how your prison 
sentence will end. In the first six months after your sentence, the 
Board will:  

• Review the Judgment & Commitment (J&C) 
to confirm your sentence
• Calculate • Calculate your sentence’s expiration date, 
credit for time served, and sentencing guideline
• Review your Pre-Sentence Investigation (PSI) 
report (except for the matrix)
• Set a date for your Original Hearing 
(See page 20 for more information)  

The Board does not complete this process for individuals with a life The Board does not complete this process for individuals with a life 
without parole or death sentence.  
See Utah Code Ann. §77-27-5

GETTING A PAROLE DATE

HOW THE BOARD 
CALCULATES YOUR TIME

STEP 1: BOARD TAKES JURISDICTION

PART 2
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Within the first six months of going to prison, the Board will conduct 
a Scheduling Review* to set the date for your Original Hearing (OH). 
When deciding the date, the Board looks at factors like:

• Minimum sentence
• Sentencing guidelines
• Nature of the offense
• Victim impact (if applicable)• Victim impact (if applicable)
• Rehabilitation needs
• Reports and other relevant documents

YYou will receive the Scheduling Review, which includes the tentative 
month and year for your Original Hearing. The review may also 
include orders for assessments, treatment, or other programs, which 
will be added to your Case Action Plan (CAP) by UDC. The Board 
expects you to follow your CAP and avoid any discipline violations 
before your Original Hearing.  
Once the Scheduling Once the Scheduling Review is complete, the Board will also send 
your guideline matrix and calculation of credit for time served.

*See page 27 for more information on Scheduling Reviews.  
See Utah Admin. Code §R671-201

STEP 2: SCHEDULING REVIEW
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As your hearing approaches, you may want to share information 
about your case, your progress, and your plans. You can submit 
information to the Board in writing at any time. This can be from 
you, your friends, family, community members, or other incarcerated 
individuals. Any information sent will be reviewed by Board staff and 
added to your file and reviewed by the Board when making its 
decision. The information will also be shared with you in the blue 
pacpacket (see next section for more information). Please note that 
submitting information does not trigger an action.

People submitting information can talk about your character, the 
changes they have seen in you, your release plan, and your support 
system on the outside. It can also be helpful to submit information 
documenting acceptance into a treatment program or a job you’ve 
been offered.

Submissions from people other than UDC and the incarcerated 
individual are limited to five (5) pages.

The Board looks at many factors when making its decision. For more details on 
what is considered, see the Structured Decision-Making Framework (SDMF) 
on page 8. 

THINGS THE BOARD WILL CONSIDER

You can find more details about Original Hearings on page 20 and 
Rehearings on page 21.

FOLLOW THESE SAME STEPS FOR A REHEARING

STEP 3: PREPARE FOR YOUR 
ORIGINAL HEARING
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At least three weeks before your Original Hearing, you’ll receive a 
disclosure, often called a “blue” packet. This packet contains all 
the information the Board will use to make its decision about 
parole.*

RReview the packet carefully to ensure the information is accurate. 
You can correct or discuss anything that is wrong or missing 
before or during the hearing. If information is received by the 
Board after you receive the Blue Packet, it will be sent to you as a 
“late disclosure." 

*If sharing certain information could compromise the safe*If sharing certain information could compromise the safety of 
the prison or the person providing the information, you will get a 
general description of the information, but not a copy of the 
document in the Board’s file.

See Utah Admin. Code §R671-303

REVIEW BLUE PACKET/DISCLOSURE

Responding to Information Used by the Board  
• Review all documents carefully.
  

• You can submit corrections, responses, or questions in writing 
before your hearing, or bring them up during the hearing.

    

• If you need to correct something, clearly explain the issue and 
include any proof to support your correction. 

IMPORTANT:
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Getting and Returning Your 
Inmate Hearing Information Packet

• Your case manager will give you a packet 4-6 weeks before 
your Original Hearing. 
• Complete the packet, including your release plans, and return 
it to your case manager at least 3 weeks before your hearing.
• • Your case manager will return the completed packet to the 
Board.
• TIP: If you are required to complete community-based 
treatment (like Substance Abuse or Sex Offender treatment), 
it’s a good idea (but not required) to include a letter of 
acceptance from the treatment provider in your packet.

What to Include in Your Release Plan:
A good release plan helps A good release plan helps you return to the community and 
succeed on parole. The information in your release plan can have 
a big impact on your hearing and the Board’s decision. 
  

• Make sure everything you provide is accurate and detailed. 
• Write clearly in pen.
• Use extra pages if you need more space.
• Don• Don’t write on the back of pages.  

WRITE A RELEASE PLAN:

Before filling out the packet, draft your main 
points on a separate sheet of paper. 
Include:  
• Your past offense
• What you’re doing now to improve
• Your future goals
• Support from positi• Support from positive family and friends
• Your actions since the offense
• Activities showing better choices
• How you’ve reduced risk factors (see page 32)
• How you’ve prepared for release
• How you’ll keep addressing these risks after release
• • You can also explain any factors that could reduce your risk 
(see page 30)

TIP: PLAN YOUR KEY POINTS
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• Your history:

◊ Your version of what led to your incarceration
◊ How your actions affected the victim
◊ Drug/alcohol use
◊ Why you engaged in criminal behavior
◊ Family
◊ Education◊ Education
◊ Adverse Childhood Experiences
◊ Medical/mental health issues 
◊ Gang membership
◊ Programing and treatment

• Plans After Release:

◊ ◊ Housing - Where will you live and why is it a supportive 
environment?

◊ Employment - Where will you work, and what will you 
do? Stable work helps reduce the risk of reoffending.

◊ Treatment - What’s your treatment plan? Do you have 
strategies for staying stable? What’s your back up plan?

◊ ◊ Transportation - How will you get to treatment, work, or 
appointments?

◊ Support System - What people or organizations will help 
and encourage you? 

◊ Parole Compliance - How will you follow parole rules? 
What support do you need? How will you pay restitution? 
How will you follow no-contact orders?

For more details, see “More About Release Plans” on page 30.For more details, see “More About Release Plans” on page 30.

THE PACKET WILL ASK ABOUT:
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What to Expect in the Hearing

• Be Honest: Answer all questions truthfully.
• Highlight Positive Changes: Share how you’ve 
worked to improve yourself while incarcerated.

• Discuss Your Release Plans: Explain your plans for 
reentry and how you’ll follow parole conditions.

• • Ask for Clarification: If you don’t understand a 
question, don’t hesitate to ask for it to be explained.

• Address the Blue Packet: If there’s anything in the blue 
disclosure packet you want to clarify or correct, bring it up 
during the hearing—even if you’ve already written a letter 
about it.

RRemember, your answers and what you share during the hearing 
will help the Board decide your case.

STEP 4: ATTEND THE HEARING
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Attorneys can only speak at the following hearings:

• Parole Violation Hearing: You can hire your own attorney 
or use one provided by the Board.

• Evidentiary Hearing: You can hire your own attorney 
or use one provided by the Board.  

• Pardon Hearing• Pardon Hearing 
• Commutation Hearing

    Though not allowed to speak, attorneys can attend hearings as members 
    of the public and submit written comment or argument to the Board.

ATTORNEYS & HEARINGS

HEARINGS AT USCF & GUNNISON 
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Victims and victim’s families are notified about all hearings and can 
choose to attend either in-person or via video conference. They do not 
have to give testimony and can have someone else speak for them if 
they prefer.

In-person hearings: If a victim or victim's family wants you to leave 
the room while they share their testimony, they can ask for that. You 
will still be able to listen from a secure area outside the hearing room. 

Video conferenceVideo conference: During a video hearing, the victim or victim's 
family can ask to keep their camera off while they give their 
testimony. The hearing official  will decide if this is allowed.

See Utah Code Ann. §77-27-9.5; Utah Admin. Code §R671-203-1

VICTIMS ATTENDING A HEARING

HEARING ROOM
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STEP 5: WAIT FOR THE DECISION

The Board usually makes a decision four to six weeks after your 
hearing. You will receive a paper copy of the decision by mail. The 
decision is also posted online as soon as it’s available. If you have 
loved ones in the community, they can check online for the decision, 
which is faster than waiting for the mailed copy.

HEARING ROOM
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PART 4
GENERAL INFORMATION

ABOUT HEARINGS

ORIGINAL HEARING

HEARINGS RELATED TO 
GETTING A PAROLE DATE

· Unless your sentence doesn’t allow for parole (e.g., life without parole), 
  you have the right to a hearing with the Board sometime during your 
  sentence.

· All Board hearings are “personal-appearance hearings,” and you will be 
  able to participate either in person or by video conference. 

· During a hearing you can speak, share documents, ask questions, and 
  answer questions.   answer questions. 

· If you choose to waive your right to appear or refuse to attend, the 
  Board may still hold the hearing and make a decision without you. 

· If you are housed out of state and agree to it, your appearance can be   
  done by video.

For more information and tips on preparing for Original Hearing, 
Rehearing, or Rescission Hearing see page 36.

The first time The first time you appear before the Board is usually 
your Original Hearing.   
About Original Hearings:
· This is a personal-appearance hearing where the Board reviews 
  your record with you for the first time. 

· You will have the opportunity to speak.
· · Victims, victim families, or their representatives can also speak.
· You may have legal counsel with you, but they can’t speak. 
· People with information for the Board, like family, friends, 
  potential employers, or treatment providers, can submit written 
  comments.

· Any information sent to the Board will be added to your record 
and shared with you (disclosed) before the hearing.    
See Utah Admin. Code§R671-201
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The hearing outcome could:  
• Set a future rehearing date without a parole date; this may include 
required programs or evaluations.

  

• Set a parole date and conditions; this may include completing • Set a parole date and conditions; this may include completing 
certain programs or evaluations before release to supervision. 
• Set a paper review if there are pending charges.

 • No decisions are made on the day of your hearing. The Board will 
review the information and decide afterward.

   
• Having an Original Hearing or Rehearing does not guarantee a 
release date will be set.

REMEMBER

A Rehearing could occur after an Original Hearing and is 
scheduled by the Board to review your progress. 
  
A Rehearing may be held to:

• Review new information or an updated assessment.
• Get updates on your participation in specific programs.
• Evaluate your behavior in prison.
• Set a release date.• Set a release date.

The Rehearing process is similar to the Original Hearing, with 
the same speaking and disclosure rules.

REHEARING
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A Rescission Hearing is held to decide if the Board should take 
away  or delay a previously set parole date due to new information 
that affects your release.

Reasons for a Rescission Hearing:  
• Poor behavior in prison.
• New co• New conviction or disciplinary violation reported to the 
Board.

• Lack of available beds in a halfway house/Community 
Correctional Center or treatment facility.
• Your proposed address is no longer suitable. 

A Rescission Hearing is a personal-appearance hearing, with the 
same speaking and disclosure rules as an Original Hearing. 

A A Rescission Hearing result could be:  
• No change to your release date.
• Delay of release date.
• Removal of your release date.

See Utah Admin. Code §R671-310
  

“Rescission” means to cancel, take away, or change

RESCISSION HEARING

 22



• If the Board receives documents less than 3 days before the 
hearing, they will be shown to you during the hearing, and 
you’ll have time to review them. You can either proceed with 
the hearing or request more time to review the documents.

• In some cases, you can go forward with the hearing and then 
request 2–4 weeks to provide a response to the Board before 
they make a final decision.

See Utah Admin. Code §R671-204See Utah Admin. Code §R671-204

If more documents are submitted, the Board may delay or 
continue your hearing. If this happens:  

• All additional documents must be submitted 
to the Board within 14 days.   
• These documents will be shared with • These documents will be shared with you 
3 days before the hearing.

POSTPONING OR 
CONTINUING A HEARING
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The hearing outcome could:  
• Set a future rehearing date without a parole date; this may include 
required programs or evaluations.

  

• Set a parole date and conditions; this may include completing • Set a parole date and conditions; this may include completing 
certain programs or evaluations before release to supervision. 
• Set a paper review if there are pending charges.

 • No decisions are made on the day of your hearing. The Board will 
review the information and decide afterward.

   
• Having an Original Hearing or Rehearing does not guarantee a 
release date will be set.

HEARINGS RELATED TO 
PAROLE VIOLATIONS

Board Warrant
If someone is accused of violating their parole terms, Adult If someone is accused of violating their parole terms, Adult 
Probation and Parole (AP&P) can ask the Board to issue a 
warrant for their arrest and return to prison. This is called a 
"Board Warrant." If a Board Member reviewing the request finds 
there is enough evidence (probable cause) to support the 
alleged violation(s), they may issue the warrant. Sometimes a 
parole violation allegation results in new, pending criminal 
charges.charges.

Once the individual is in custody, they have the right to a Parole 
Violation Hearing. 

See Utah Admin. Code §R671-510 and §R671-512

Parole Violation Waiver
The Board screens all parole violations to see if the individual is 
eligible for a waiver. If the individual is eligible, a waiver will be 
sent to them. They should review it before deciding to sign it. 
Signing the waiver means admitting to the violation and 
skipping the wait for a Parole Violation Hearing. 

If If you choose not to sign the waiver, write "decline" on it and 
send it back. If you don’t return it, the Board will wait up to 30 
days from when it was sent to give you time to review and 
respond before moving forward.

See Utah Admin. Code §R671-514
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The hearing outcome could:  
• Set a future rehearing date without a parole date; this may include 
required programs or evaluations.

  

• Set a parole date and conditions; this may include completing • Set a parole date and conditions; this may include completing 
certain programs or evaluations before release to supervision. 
• Set a paper review if there are pending charges.

 • No decisions are made on the day of your hearing. The Board will 
review the information and decide afterward.

   
• Having an Original Hearing or Rehearing does not guarantee a 
release date will be set.

Parole Violation Hearing
A Parole Violation Hearing is held when someone on parole is 
accused of breaking parole conditions.

• If there are no new criminal charges – The hearing 
usually takes place within 60 days of their return to prison.  
• • If there are new criminal charges – The hearing may be 
postponed until the new charges are resolved in court.

At the hearing, the individual can admit, plead no contest, or deny 
each alleged parole violation.

• If they deny one or more violations, an Evidentiary 
Hearing may be scheduled.  
• • If they admit or plead no contest, the hearing official 
may collect statements from both the parole agent and the 
individual.

The Board will provide an attorney for this process.

See Utah Admin. Code §R671-516

Evidentiary Hearing
An Evidentiary Hearing is scheduled when parole violations are An Evidentiary Hearing is scheduled when parole violations are 
denied, and AP&P does not dismiss the allegations.

• The individual can be represented by a Board-provided 
attorney or hire their own.  
• They have the right to question witnesses and present 
evidence.

After the hearing, a summary goes to the Board for review and After the hearing, a summary goes to the Board for review and 
decision.  Note that the Board only determines if it’s “more likely 
than not” that parole terms were violated, based on a 
preponderance of the evidence. The Board does not decide on 
new criminal charges; that is the court’s role.

See Utah Admin. Code §R671-517
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BOARD HEARINGS
OTHER TYPES OF
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PART 5

The Board conducts Reviews to consider new or updated information. 
They are different from hearings and do not involve in-person 
appearances.

Scheduling Reviews
See page 11 for information on Scheduling Reviews

Within the first six months of going to prison, the Board will conduct a Within the first six months of going to prison, the Board will conduct a 
Scheduling Review to determine the date of your Original Hearing. In 
setting that date, the Board considers your minimum 
sentence/sentencing guideline, sentencing reports, the nature of the 
offense, victim impact in applicable cases, rehabilitative needs, and 
other relevant documentation.

Administrative Review 
or Paper Reviewor Paper Review

These Reviews are considerations of new information in your file. The 
Board may be waiting for new charges to be filed, treatment to be 
completed, addresses to be approved, etc. To make sure this 
information is reviewed, the Board sets a review date.
 

TYPES OF REVIEWS
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Special Attention Review

Special Attention Reviews occur for many reasons, usually it is to 
consider some new information.

• The new information pr• The new information provided to the Board may be positive, 
negative, or informational. Examples might be a request for 
compassionate release, notification of completion of 
treatment, or notice of a disciplinary action.
• If someone is currently incarce• If someone is currently incarcerated, a Special Attention 
Review may be submitted by anyone but is most commonly 
submitted by a UDC caseworker, clinical staff, counsel, or the 
incarcerated individual themselves.
• For those on parole, a Special Attention Review may address 
parole condition violations and are submitted by AP&P.
• The Board m• The Board may choose whether to hold a hearing on a 
Special Attention Request.

See Utah Admin. Code §R671-311

Redetermination Review
A Redetermination Review asks the Board to reconsider a past 
decision it made.

When Can You Request a Redetermination Review?

YYou can request a review if:  
• Your sentence has the possibility of parole.
• Enough time has passed since the Board's last decision 
(see Time Requirements below).
• You don’t have new criminal convictions.
• You don’t have any pending disciplinary violations.

Time Requirements:Time Requirements:  
• Board decided release, rehearing, or expiration of 
sentence (excludes expire life decisions): You can 
request a review 5 years after the Board’s decision for 
release, rehearing, or sentence expiration.

• Board decided to expire a life sentence: • Board decided to expire a life sentence: You can request a 
review 10 years after the Board decided your life sentence 
would expire.
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• Homicide cases where Original Hearing is set more than 15 
years after decision: If your Original Hearing was set more 
than 15 years after you arrived in prison, you can request a 
review 10 years after the last decision.

How to Submit a Request

• Explain clearly why you believe the Board should reconsider • Explain clearly why you believe the Board should reconsider 
its decision.  
• Include a report with information about your case plan, 
treatment, disciplinary record, and risk assessment.  
• Sign the request if you are submitting it yourself.

What Happens Next?What Happens Next?
If the Board finds a valid reason to grant a Redetermination Review 
they can make a decision with or without holding a hearing.The Board 
may ask the Department of Corrections for additional information 
about your request. 

See Utah Administrative Rule 671-316

Termination Request Review

A A Termination Request Review is made for someone who is currently 
on parole to be terminated from AP&P supervision and Board 
jurisdiction.

• The request must be processed through AP&P and include 
information on the parolee’s performance while on 
supervision.  
• • Termination requests are reviews and do not include a formal 
hearing before the Board.

See Utah Admin. Code §R671-405
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PART 6
OTHER IMPORTANT 

INFORMATION
Things you can do before your hearing:
These actions will be included in your Institutional Progress Report 
(IPR) which is prepared by UDC and provides information about 
your progress:  

• Avoid major disciplinary actions while in prison.
• • Participate in pre-release programs or counseling.
• Work on your education (in person or on your tablet):

◊ Enroll in GED classes.
◊ Complete career readiness or vocational courses.
◊ Finish rehabilitative, treatment, and 
cognitive behavior programs.

• Manage your behavior and provide proof of 
good conduct while incarcegood conduct while incarcerated.

Other ways to prepare:

• Participate in a mental health evaluation, if needed.
• Gather letters and witnesses who can provide positive 
information on your behalf.
• Provide character references.
• Prepare a solid plan for empl• Prepare a solid plan for employment, education, housing, 
and reentry if granted parole.
• Sign up for or address participation in substance abuse 
programs, if necessary.
• Work with your attorney to prepare for possible questions.
• • Review your “blue packet” to fully understand your case, 
your potential parole, and how you plan to stay out of 
trouble after release.

More About Release Plans
The Board cares about your success in the community. Not having 
access to food, shelter, or other necessities can increase your risk 
of reoffending. 
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Consider the following when you write your release 
plan:  

Housing:
• Describe where you will live.
• Explain how your living situation will help 
yyou follow the rules of parole.

Employment:
• Stable employment is a positive factor that
helps lower the risk of reoffending.

Transportation
• Share how you plan to get to treatment, 
work, or appointments.

TTreatment
• Talk about your mental health treatment plan, including 
strategies for stability and any medications you'll use to 
complete parole successfully.
• If you need to complete outpatient treatment (e.g., Substance 
Abuse or Sex Offender treatment):

◊ Include details about who will provide the treatment.
◊ Explain how ◊ Explain how you will pay for it.

• Also, have a backup plan in case your main treatment plan 
doesn’t work. For example, if you can’t start treatment for a 
few months, explain what you will do in the meantime.

Support System
• Talk about the people and organizations in your 
support network.

◊ Who will help ◊ Who will help you stay out of trouble?
◊ Who will assist you in adjusting back to the community?
◊ Who will you turn to for help?
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Housing & Parole  

• You may receive a parole date before your residence is approved.
• You may be paroled to a Community Correctional Center (CCC) 
while you search for an approved residence.
• If • If your residence is not approved, the Board will be notified. This 
could result in a rescission of your parole (see page 22) while you 
continue to find an approved address.
• If you're having trouble finding housing, your case manager and 
UDC’s reentry services will assist you.
• The Board does not parole individuals to homeless shelters.

Risk & Protective Factors

Risk and protectiRisk and protective factors play a key role in your 
success after release.

Common Risk Factors  
Risk factors increase the likelihood of committing a crime. 
They include:

• Antisocial behavior patterns
• Aggressi• Aggressive or harmful actions
• Criminal history
• Exploitive or manipulative behavior
• Thinking errors, impulsiveness, and poor self-control
• Disregard for others' feelings or needs
• Poor decision-making and problem-solving skills
• Inability to resolve conflicts without aggression or violence
• Beliefs and • Beliefs and values supporting criminal activity
• Associating with people who encourage antisocial behavior
• Chaotic family relationships with no support for positive 
behavior
• Poor performance in work/school, leading to dissatisfaction 
and unmet needs
• Lack of pro-social leisure activities
• Drug or alcohol abuse• Drug or alcohol abuse
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Common Protective Factors  

• Improved self-control and decision-making skills
• Better problem-solving and conflict resolution skills
• Beliefs and values supporting prosocial behavior
• Positive friends and environment
• Stable, supporti• Stable, supportive family relationships
• Employment or support that meets personal and family needs
• Abstaining from drugs/alcohol and engaging in substance 
abuse treatment
• Relapse prevention, including external supports to avoid risky 
situations
• Healthy ways to spend time and positive socialization
• Access to mental and p• Access to mental and physical health care
• Programs/treatments tailored to individual learning, cultural, 
and personal needs
• Addressing trauma and adverse childhood experiences

Earned Time Credit

State statute has both mandatory and discretionary earned time credit State statute has both mandatory and discretionary earned time credit 
(ETC). Programs that qualify and the process for receiving the credit 
can change. Refer to the most recent approved ETC document. Time 
cuts are only applied once you have a release date.

See Utah Code Ann. §77-27-5.4

Interstate Compacts For Parole

An Interstate Compact allows An Interstate Compact allows you to serve parole in another state. UDC, 
not the Board, handles these decisions. You must apply and pay the 
application fees, and the process can take several months. After you 
receive a release date, you can work with your case manager to start 
the paperwork.

See Utah Code Ann. §77-27-24
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AGGRAVATING & MITIGATING
CIRCUMSTANCES
Aggravating and mitigating circumstances are factors 
that influence the severity of a sentence and eligibility 
for parole.

Aggravating Circumstances

Aggravating circumstances related to the offense may include:
• Significant physical or psychological injury to the victim.
• Extreme cruelty or depravity involved in the offense.
• I• Involvement of two or more victims.
• Continuous criminal activity over a significant time period.
• Substantial monetary loss caused by the offense.  

Additional aggravating factors considered by the Board may include:
• Repeat offenses indicating an inability to comply in 
less restrictive settings.
• Willful failure to attend or participate in educational, • Willful failure to attend or participate in educational, vocational, 
or treatment programs.
• Regular association with individuals engaged in criminal 
behavior.
• Continued aggressive or harmful behavior towards others.

Mitigating Circumstances

Mitigating circumstances may include:
• • Voluntary participation in screening processes 
(e.g., LSI, TCUD, MHS) while in jail.
• Payment or good faith effort to repay restitution to the victim.
• Compliance with all pre-trial conditions.
• Engagement in community-based supervision or treatment 
services aligned with a risk assessment.
• A stable and supporti• A stable and supportive living environment that encourages 
positive behavior.
• Positive, supportive, pro-social relationships and 
community activities.
• Implementation of positive educational or employment plans.
• A crime-free record of over two years after completing 
previous probation, parole, or incarceration.
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FREQUENTLY ASKED 
QUESTIONS?

PART 7

1. Why is the Board’s guideline different from AP&P’s?

The Sentencing Commission makes the Sentencing Guidelines. AP&P 
and the Board use these same guidelines, but the outcome might 
not be the same. 

• AP&P figures out the guideline • AP&P figures out the guideline before the judge decides on the 
sentence. At this point, the judge hasn’t said if the sentences 
will be consecutive (served one after the other) or concurrent 
(served at the same time). Also, AP&P’s calculation might not 
include other cases that you still have open.

• The Board figures out the guideline • The Board figures out the guideline after the judge has given 
the sentence -- and usually after any other open cases have 
been decided. The Board’s guideline will show if your 
sentences are consecutive or concurrent, based on what the 
judge ordered. If you are found or plead guiilty in other open 
cases, the Board will add all your sentences together into one 
guideline. 

This is wThis is why the Board’s guideline might be different from AP&P’s 
guideline.

See page 10 for more information about how the Board calculates your time. 

2. What if I am appealing my conviction?

You have the right to appeal your conviction or seek post-conviction 
relief. The Board must follow the current court sentence until the 
court issues a new order.
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3. How can I best prepare for my hearing? 

To prepare for your hearing follow Step 3 on page 12. Additionally, 
focus on actions that show you are committed to personal growth 
and positive change. Here are some key steps:

• • Maintain Good Behavior: Avoid disciplinary actions and 
follow the rules in your facility. Consistently demonstrating 
respect for rules and authority shows you are ready for 
accountability.
• • Engage in Programming: Actively participate in classes, 
therapy, or treatment programs, including those expected by 
the Board, those that qualify for time cuts, and optional 
programs. Successfully completing these programs 
demonstrates your dedication to addressing the issues that led 
to your incarceration and your commitment to personal growth 
and self-improvement.
• Follow Your Case Action Plan• Follow Your Case Action Plan: Work on the goals outlined 
in your case action plan, such as education, employment 
training, or other recommended activities.
• Show Respect and Responsibility: Be respectful toward 
staff and peers. Take responsibility for your actions and show a 
willingness to learn and improve.
• Develop a Support System• Develop a Support System: Build relationships with family, 
friends, or mentors who can support your reintegration and be 
included in your release plan.

Consistently taking these steps demonstrates your commitment to 
change and helps the Board see your readiness to return to the 
community.

4. Is there a way to see the Board before my Original 4. Is there a way to see the Board before my Original 
Hearing?

You can request a Redetermination Review following the rules 
outlined on page 28.

HoweHowever, it’s rare for the Board to release someone before their 
guideline date. Since most Original Hearings are already scheduled 
before the guideline, seeing the Board early is unlikely to result in 
an early release unless there are exceptional circumstances.
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5. What is the difference between a hearing and a review?

A review allows the Board to consider new information without 
scheduling a hearing, which can make the decision process faster.  
The Board mThe Board may order a review instead of a hearing when they are 
waiting for specific documents or updates, such as a pending case 
or a requested assessment. Once the necessary information is 
received, the Board reviews it and makes a decision without holding 
a hearing.  
For example:

a. If the Board orders a psa. If the Board orders a psychological assessment after your 
Original Hearing, the Board may schedule a review to review 
the assessment instead of holding a rehearing to determine if 
parole will be granted.  

bb. If you are back on a parole violation and, at your Parole 
Violation Hearing, AP&P informs the Board of new pending 
charges, the Board may order a review to consider those 
charges once they are filed.

6. How do I get a discretionary time cut?

Discretionary time cuts should be submitted as Special Discretionary time cuts should be submitted as Special Attention 
Reviews (see page 28). These are most often submitted by the 
Department of Corrections The Board will consider exemplary 
performance, completing programs beyond the two CAP priorities, 
or other positive accomplishments when considering a discretionary 
time cut.

When considering a discretionary time cut, the Board reviews When considering a discretionary time cut, the Board reviews 
several factors, including the nature of the offense, court-imposed 
sentence, behavior while incarcerated, completion of programming, 
and the release plan. While no specific program guarantees a time 
cut, completing programming is a positive factor the Board 
considers.

Time cuts are only applied once you have a release date.

7. Why was I denied parole even though I served my entire 7. Why was I denied parole even though I served my entire 
sentencing guideline?

Parole is not guaranteed. By law, incarceration is required for the 
full maximum sentence unless the Board decides to grant an earlier 
release. Sentencing guidelines are recommendations, not 
requirements, and the Board has the discretion to grant or deny 
parole regardless of the guideline.

The guideline is just a starting point. The Board also considers The guideline is just a starting point. The Board also considers 
many factors, including:
The harm caused to the victim
Behavior while in prison
Progress in treatment or education
Criminal history
This means that e
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The guideline is just a starting point. The Board also considers 
many factors, including:

• The harm caused to the victim
• Behavior while in prison
• Progress in treatment or education
• Criminal history

This means that eThis means that even individuals convicted of similar crimes may 
receive different decisions about release, parole conditions, or 
length of stay.

For more information about the Board’s role in sentencing see 
page 6.

8. If I abscond what impact will that have on my expiration 
date?

If If you abscond while on parole, the time you are gone will be added 
to your expiration date. For example, if you are scheduled to expire 
on April 1, 2030 and you abscond for 30 days your new expiration 
will be May 1, 2030. This is called “tolling.”

9. How long will I be back in prison on a parole violation and 
how do I get a waiver? 

Length of stay on a parole violation:

The Utah Sentencing Guidelines include guidelines for supervision The Utah Sentencing Guidelines include guidelines for supervision 
and parole violations. 

• For the first three parole violations, the time back in prison is 
capped at 180 days unless the Board finds that an exception 
authorized by the Utah Sentencing Commission applies.
• The Board can choose to release you earlier than 180 days if 
they believe it’s appropriate.
• • For a fourth or later parole violation, the Board has full 
discretion to decide how long you’ll stay in prison.

The Board cannot keep you in prison beyond your maximum 
sentence. The Board can extend your time past the cap if they find 
a reason, such as a risk to public safety. If a public safety exception 
is included in your decision, it means the Board found that one or 
more of the reasons listed below apply to you:

Public Safety Exception: “Your next hearing or release date is Public Safety Exception: “Your next hearing or release date is 
beyond the parole violation guideline because the Board finds a 
public safety exception. A public safety exception means the Board 
finds that your conduct has or may present a substantial threat to 
public safety such as a dangerous weapon, fleeing, violent arrest 
behavior, new person crime allegations, or a  high priority 
Community Correctional Center (CCC) walk away. A public safety 
exception may also be found when your conduct includes behavio
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• Original Hearing or Rehearing: Usually 4–6 
weeks, though some decisions may take longer.

• Rescission Hearing: Typically 1–4 weeks.

• Postponed or Continued Hearings: On average, it takes about
 3 months to get rescheduled on the hearing calendar.

• • Board Warrant: Usually issued within 24 hours of receiving the 
request.

• Parole Violation Waiver: If approved for a waiver, it will be sent to 
the individual 2–4 weeks after returning to prison; once signed and 
returned, a decision is typically made within 2–3 weeks.

• Parole Violation Hearing: Typically 2–4 weeks, though some 
decisions may take longer.

• • Evidentiary Hearing: Usually 4–6 weeks, though some decisions
 may take longer.

HEARINGS

public safety such as a dangerous weapon, fleeing, violent arrest public safety such as a dangerous weapon, fleeing, violent arrest 
behavior, new person crime allegations, or a high priority 
Community Correctional Center (CCC) walk away. A public safety 
exception may also be found when your conduct includes behavior 
that repeats the cycle that led to the past crimes, repeat driving 
under the influence (DUI) violations, absconding with a history of 
person crimes, mental health instability that negatively impacts a 
criminogenic risk factors, repeat domestic violence offenses, or criminogenic risk factors, repeat domestic violence offenses, or 
serious financial crimes.”

Parole violation waiver:

Everyone returned to prison for a parole violation is screened to see 
if they qualify for a waiver. The decision to issue a waiver is based 
on the type of violations. If you meet the criteria for a waiver it will 
be sent to you. This process typically takes 60 days.

If you sign the waiver you are admitting to the allegations. The 
signed waiver will be returned to the Board and your case will be 
presented to the Board for a review and decision. 

10. When will I get a decision from the Board?

Here’s an overview of how long it typically takes the Board to make 
decisions for different types of hearings and reviews:
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• Scheduling Review: Completed within 6 months of your 
arrival at prison.

• Paper Review: Timing varies depending on the reason it was ordered.

• Special Attention Review: The Board typically receives the request 
within 24 hours of submission, but the decision time depends on the 
case.

• • Redetermination Review: Usually 4–6 weeks, though some 
decisions may take longer.

• Termination Review: Typically 1-2 weeks once all the information is 
submitted

These are general timeframes, and some decisions may take longer based 
on the complexity of the case or other factors.

REVIEWS

RESTITUTION
The rules for restitution are different if you were sentenced 
before or after July 1, 2021. 

For additional information, please refer to Utah Code §77-27-6.1 
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PART 8

GLOSSARY
• Adult Probation & Parole (AP&P) -  A state agency that 
supervises individuals on probation and parole in the community.  
• Aggregate - A calculation of total prison sentences for multiple 
offenses under the Board's jurisdiction.  
• • Aggravating Factors - Circumstances that may contribute 
negatively to a release decision. (see Mitigating Factors)   
• Board Order - An official decision made by the Board and posted 
on the Board’s website.   
• • Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) - Agency responsible 
for entering, updating, and maintaining criminal history data for all 
arrests and the outcome of the arrests. Is also responsible for 
determining expungement eligibility.

• Case Action Plan (CAP) - A plan for individuals while incarcerated 
and on community-based supervision, based on various 
assessments, that outlines an individual’s education, program, and 
treatment needs and to set goals to address areas of risk and need.  
• Civil Judgment - An order by the Court or Board to require 
restitution be paid to a victim    
• Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT) - Behavioral 
treatment/therapy that focuses on identified criminal risk factors 
and thought processes as well as skill practice in order to reduce 
risk.  
• • Community Correctional Center (CCC) - Facilities operated by 
the Utah Department of Corrections designed to help individuals 
who may not have a place to go upon release from prison or who 
have been ordered to complete specific programs at the facility  
• • Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice (CCJJ) - The 
state government body established to develop criminal and juvenile 
justice policy in Utah.  
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• Compassionate Release - A Board order to release an individual 
from prison based on an exceptional circumstance, including:   

◊ 1) the death of an immediate family member that occurs 
within 120 days of the scheduled release, 
◊ 2) the incarce◊ 2) the incarcerated individual's need for extensive medical 
attention, nursing home care, or palliative care, or 
◊ 3) if the incarcerated individual's public safety and recidivism 
risk is significantly reduced due to the effects or symptoms of 
advanced age, medical infirmity, disease or disability (Utah 
Administration Rule R671-314).  

• • Concurrent - Two or more sentences that are served at the same 
time.  
• Consecutive - Two or more sentences that are served one after 
the other.  
• • Credit for Time Served (CTS) - The amount of time served in 
custody prior to commitment to prison.   
• Central Utah Correctional Facility (CUCF) - A Utah Department 
of Corrections prison located in Gunnison, Utah.

• • Commutation Hearing - A hearing held to review a request to 
change or reduce the severity of a crime, to change or reduce an 
imposed sentence, or to change or reduce the type and level of 
offense.
• Commitment - A sentence imposed by the Court for a criminal 
conviction that results in a prison term and Board jurisdiction.  
• Contingencies - A requirement set by the Board for an individual to 
complete prior to their release from imprisonment.  
• • Earned Time Credit (mandatory and discretionary) - A process 
by which an individual’s release date may be adjusted up to 4 months 
earlier for completion of an approved program. Time cuts are only 
applied once you have a release date. See page 33.

• • Evidentiary Hearing - When a parolee has entered a denial to a 
parole violation allegation and the Board wishes to consider the 
allegation, the Board shall hold a hearing. The Department of 
Corrections bears the burden of establishing a parole violation by a 
preponderance of the evidence.
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• Government Records Access and Management Act (GRAMA) - 
Utah law that provides the public with the right to access certain 
records prepared, maintained or controlled by a government entity.  
• • Guideline Date - The date established as the presumptive time to 
be served for offenses for which an individual has been sentenced 
to prison. (See Utah Sentencing Commission)  
• • Guilty but Mentally Ill (GMI) - This is a special type of guilty 
plea that indicates that the individual was found guilty of the crime 
but was mentally ill at the time and may still be mentally ill. (Utah 
Code § 76-2-3)  
• Hearing Officer (HO) - Board staff members who are assigned to 
conduct hearings and provide reports to the Board.    
• Judgment and Commitment (J&C) - The document containing 
the official sentence imposed by the court.  
• Jurisdiction - Cases over which the Board has authority.  
• • Law Enforcement Bureau (LEB) - A division of the Utah 
Department of Corrections responsible for conducting 
criminal/administrative investigations.
• Level of Service - Risk, Need, Responsivity (LS-RNR) - A risk 
assessment tool combined with a survey of needs used for 
development of a case action plan. (See case action plan).  
• • Mental Health Support Services (MHSS) - Utah Department of 
Corrections community based mental health support program.  
• Mitigating Factors - Circumstances that may contribute positively  
to a release decision (see Aggravating Factors)  
• • Moral Reconation Therapy (MRT) - A type of behavioral therapy 
aimed at reducing risk of criminal recidivism.   
• No Contest - A legal option in which a defendant neither admits 
nor denies a criminal charge, but accepts the punishment as if they 
were guilty.  
• • Original Hearing (OH) - A hearing before the Board to determine 
whether a release will be granted prior to the end of an individual’s 
sentence.   
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• Office of State Debt Collection (OSDC) - A state agency that 
manages the collection and distribution of monies owed in a criminal 
case.   
• • Pardons Hearing - A hearing granted by the Board where a pardon 
(an act of grace that forgives a criminal conviction and restores the 
rights and privileges forfeited because of the criminal conviction) is 
considered.   
• Parole - State supervision for individuals who have been released to 
the community prior to the end of an individual’s sentence.    
• Paper Review - A review scheduled when the Board needs to gather 
additional information before making a decision.  
• Public Defender Fee (PDF) - A fee imposed by the court associated 
with the services of a court appointed attorney.   
• • Pre-Sentence Investigation/Pre-Sentence Report (PSI/PSR) - 
A report prepared for the court or the Board that contains information 
about an individual convicted of a crime, the facts of the crime, and 
the impact to the victim.  
• • Parole Revocation - The process by which an individual may be 
returned to prison for violating the terms and conditions of their 
parole.

• Parole Violation Hearing (PV) - A hearing held after an individual 
is returned to prison to determine if they have violated the terms or 
conditions of their parole.  
• • Parole Violation/Original Hearing (PV/OH) - A hearing held to 
address parole violations along with new commitments which the 
Board has jurisdiction over. Guidelines will be based on the new 
offense not on the parole violation cap.  
• • Parole Violator Program (PVP) - A program designed to assist 
individuals who are in violation of their parole to return to compliance 
without returning to prison.  
• Preponderance of the Evidence - Evidence that is enough to 
persuade you that the claim is more likely true than not true.  
• • Recidivism - When an individual involved in the criminal justice 
system reoffends. This can be defined in different ways depending on 
the context.   
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• Redetermination Review - A request submitted to the Board to 
reconsider a previous decision or request a review by the Board while 
incarcerated. (Utah Administration Rule R671-316)  
• • Response Incentive Matrix (RIM) - A tool used by the Board and 
AP&P to determine an appropriate response to positive or negative 
behavior while under supervision.  
• Residential Substance Use Treatment (RSUT) - Institutional or 
community programming to address substance use.   
• • Restitution - Compensation the court or Board requires individuals 
to pay to victims of crime.  
• Rehearing (RH) - A hearing held by the Board after a previous 
hearing.   
• • Rehearing/Original Hearing (RH/OH) - A hearing held to address 
any new case(s).   
• Rescission Hearing - A hearing held after a release date has been 
taken away by the Board for violations of prison regulations, new 
criminal convictions, or other issues.  
• • Rescission/Bed Space Hearing - A hearing held after a release 
date has been taken away by the Board for lack of bed space at a 
community correctional center or an approved address.

• Rescission/Original Hearing - A hearing held after a release date 
has been taken away by the Board and now the individual has a new 
prison commitment.   
• • Scheduling Review - A review of the incarcerated individual’s 
information used to determine when the original hearing will be 
tentatively set.  
• Sentence - The sanction imposed by a court on a person who has 
been convicted of a crime.  
• • Sentencing Guidelines - An average recommended sentence length 
based on current convictions and criminal history created by the Utah 
Sentencing Commission.   

• Smart Scheduling - The scheduling of original hearings by taking 
into account the individual’s needs for treatment and their guideline 
date.  
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• Special Attention - Reviews or hearings to adjust parole conditions, 
review earlier Board decisions, and change earlier decisions when 
exceptional circumstances exist.   

• • Sex Offender Registry (SOR) - The agency responsible for 
maintaining and updating sex offender registration files operated by 
the Department of Public Safety.    

• Sex Offender Treatment Program (SOTP) - Institutional or 
community programming to address sexual offending.  

• Substance Use Treatment (SUT) - Institutional or community 
programming to address substance use.  

• • Tentative Hearing Date - The month and year a hearing date is 
estimated to be scheduled.   

• Termination of Sentence - A date provided for the termination of 
incarceration or parole supervision by the Board.  

• • Termination Request - A report received from Adult Probation and 
Parole informing the Board that a termination date is approaching or 
that the individual has done well on parole and is being recommended 
to be terminated.  

• Utah Department of Corrections (UDC) - State agency tasked 
with the responsibility of overseeing the individuals on probation, 
parole, or incarcerated in prison.

• • Utah Office for Victims of Crime (UOVC) - Provides financial 
compensation for victims of crime.   

• Utah State Correctional Facility (USCF) - A Utah Department of 
Corrections prison located in Salt Lake City, Utah.  

• Victim Notification: A process in which crime victims are notified of 
scheduled Board hearings.
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PART 9
REFERENCES TO
BOARD RULE
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