BOARD OF PARDONS AND PAROLE

FAQs - All FAQs

It depends on the crime committed but is based on a set schedule [See Original Hearing]. The inmate will receive written notification from our office, about 4-6 weeks arrival at the prison, notifying the inmate of the approximate month and year of their original hearing (initial appearance before the Board). A more detailed notice will be sent to the inmate about 4-6 weeks prior to the hearing, with the exact date, time, and location of the scheduled hearing. Other interested parties can call our office at 801-261-6464 for information, or check our web site under Hearing Schedules to check on upcoming hearings.

In cases where a life was taken (all homicide cases), within six months after an inmate arrives at the prison, the Board will set an original hearing, following an administrative review, at the Board’s discretion, within the framework of a sentence.

 

Following a hearing, the Board can either: schedule a parole date; schedule a release without parole (termination); schedule a Rehearing at any point within an offender’s sentence; or order an inmate to serve the full sentence before being released.

Virtually all Board Hearings are conducted by one person, either a Board Member or a Hearing Officer. That person interviews the inmate. Victims of record are invited to participate and have the right to speak, if desired. Inmates are represented by an attorney at Parole Violation Hearings only. Parole officers participate in those hearings as well. Testimony and statements from any other person will not be taken. Any interested member of the public, family members or friends, of either the victim(s) and the inmate are free to send correspondence to the Board regarding any inmate.

Board hearings are open to the public. Children may attend but must remain quiet. Parole hearings include detailed descriptions of the facts of the case(s); graphic accounts of serious crimes and injuries, and intimate, personal information of both inmate and victim(s). These hearings may be disturbing to members of the public, especially children.


Hearings are scheduled for 20 minutes but some may take longer or go shorter. Please arrive 30 minutes before the scheduled start time and bring photo identification.

Usually between two and four weeks. Offenders are notified in writing, and other interested parties can call our office at (801)-261-6464.

 

Board hearings will be held at one of these facilities:

Utah State Prison

Central Utah Correctional Facility

Beaver Co. Jail

14425 Bitterbrush Lane

255 East 300 North

2160 South 600 West

Draper, UT

Gunnison, UT

Beaver, UT

Yes, please address letters by mail to our office, as follows:

Utah Board of Pardons and Parole

448 East 6400 South #300

Murray, UT 84107

Letters may also be faxed or e-mailed to our office:

Fax: 801-261-6481

E-Mail: bopinfo@utah.gov

In Utah, the Legislature has specified a particular range of time as the applicable statutory sentence for every crime (for example, the statutory sentence for a

second degree felony is not less than 1 and not more than 15 years in prison). At sentencing, a Judge can impose a sentence of probation, with attendant conditions and requirements; or the Judge can impose the statutory indeterminate sentence to be served in prison.

When a person is sentenced to prison in Utah, that person must serve the entire maximum statutory sentence unless the offender is released from prison prior to sentence expiration by the Board of Pardons and Parole. The Utah Constitution creates the Board of Pardons and Parole, and assigns to the Board the authority and power to decide how much of the applicable sentence range will actually be served in custody. In addition to determining the amount of time to be served in custody, the Board determines the nature of the release (parole or termination), the conditions of release, and the amount restitution, fines and fees to be paid or remitted.

The Utah Sentencing Commission, established by the Legislature, has developed non-binding, advisory sentencing guidelines for use by Courts and the Board. The guidelines do not have the force and effect of law, but provide only an estimate of the time an inmate may expect to be incarcerated, always subject, however, to the individual facts and circumstances of a case, the characteristics of an offender and the discretion of the Board.

By employing a number of factors, such as the offender’s criminal record, supervision history, nature and severity of the offense and other fact specific details, the Board calculates a sentence guideline, usually in terms of months, which provides a starting point for the Board in its determinations and decisions.