R671-201. Original [Parele Grant] Hearing Schedule and Notice.
[R671-201-1— Schedule—and Notiece-]

(1) (a) Within six months of an offender's commitment to prison
the Board shall give notice of the month and year in which the inmate's
original hearing will be conducted.

(b) Aminimum of seven days prior notice should be given regarding
the specific day and approximate time of such hearing.

(2) (a) Homicide offense commitment, for purposes of this rule,
means a prison commitment to serve a sentence for a conviction of
aggravated murder (if the sentence includes the possibility of
parole), murder, felony murder, manslaughter, child abuse homicide,
negligent homicide, automobile homicide, homicide by assault, [e¥] any
attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit any of these offenses,

and any other offense, regardless of title, description or severity,

when it is known at the time of sentencing that the offense conduct

resulted in the death of any person.

(b) Sexual offense commitment, for purposes of this rule, means
a prison commitment to serve a sentence for a conviction of any crime
for which an offender is defined as a kidnap offender pursuant to Utah
Code Ann. Subsection 77-41-102(9); or for which an offender is defined
as a sex offender pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Subsection 77-41-102 (16) ;
or any attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit any of the
offenses listed in those sections.

(3) (a) All homicide offense commitments eligible for parole
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shall be routed to the Board as soon as practicable for the
determination of the month and year for an original hearing.

(b) The Board shall determine, by majority vote, the month and

year of an original hearing for an offender serving a homicide offense

commitment.

(¢) In setting an original hearing for a homicide offense
commitment, the Board shall only consider information available to the
court or offender at the time of sentencing.

(db) Homicide offense commitments not eligible for parole
(including sentences of life without parole or death) shall not be
scheduled for original hearings.

(4) If the offender is less than 18 years of age at the time of
commitment and the offense is eligible for parole, the case shall be

routed to the Board as soon as practicable for the determination, by

majority vote, of the month and year for an original hearing.

(5) When an offender's prison commitment does not include a
homicide offense commitment, an offender is eligible to have an
original hearing before the Board as follows:

(a) After the service of fifteen years for first degree felony
commitments when the most severe sentence imposed and being served is
a sentence greater than 15 years to life, excluding enhancements.

(b) After the service of seven years for first degree felony
commitments when the most severe sentence imposed and being served is

a sentence of 10 years to life, or 15 years to life, excluding
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enhancements.

(c) After the service of three years for all other first degree
felony commitments.

(d) After the service of eighteen months if the most serious
offense of incarceration is a second degree felony sexual offense
commitment.

(e) After the service of six months for all other second degree
felony commitments.

(f) After the service of [&wedwve] six months if the most serious
offense of incarceration is a third degree felony sexual offense
commitment.

(g) After the service of three months for all other third degree
felony and class A misdemeanor commitments.

(6) (a) An offender may request that their original appearance
and hearing before the Board be scheduled other than as provided by
this rule. An offender's request shall specify the extraordinary
circumstances or reasons which give rise to the request. The Board may
grant or deny the offender's request in its sole discretion.

(b) The Board may, in its discretion, depart from the schedule

as provided by this rule [based—upor] if:

(i) an offender[ts] requests a_ continuance due to

extraordinary circumstances; [—wher]
(ii) an offender has unadjudicated criminal charges pending

at the time a hearing would normally be scheduled[+];
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(iii) a Class A misdemeanor commitment has expired prior to

an original hearing; or

(iv) the Board determines that other unusual or

extraordinary circumstances impact the setting of an original

hearing [that—eother—upon—its—ownmotion].
KEY: parole, inmates, hearings
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: March 24, 2015
Notice of Continuation: September 22, 2014

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: Utah Const. Art.

VII, Sec. 12; Utah Code Ann. §§ 77-27-5, 77-27-7, 77-27-9
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